NetBackup Back Down

2012/04/05 § 3 Comments

It has been said that the enemy of progress is change. I think that’s quite an insightful statement, whatever the environment. Based on more than a decade’s worth of experience in Information Technology, it’s especially true of software upgrades.

I’d been running Symantec’s NetBackup 6.5 for quite a while with nary a problem. The promise of faster backups (150%!) with the latest version, 7.5, tugged on my nose ring and led me through the pasture gates and into the abattoir.

I’ve been battling an error thrown by 7.5 (error 69) which sternly contradicts the evidence of my eyes and factual experience that the Exchange databases were mounted. NBU 7.5 thinks they are not and refuses to continue. At least I think that’s what it’s complaining about:

Critical bpbrm(pid=5984) from client ExchangeServer: FTL – snapshot preparation failed – Unable to backup Exchange database. It may not be mounted., status 69

I’m confused because I don’t know which particular database it’s going on about—there are 10 of them. Also, I’m not certain what it means by “snapshot preparation.”

So NBU 7.5 is failing me in many respects, one of which is the 150%—or whatever the number actually is—increase in speed that only happens when you buy an additional option.

Yes, in case you ask, I’ve opened a case with Symantec Technical Support. So far, no dice. Weirdly, the guy I have working with me is named Fred. Unfortunately Symantec Fred seems to be useless as tits on a boar. The problem is I’m running out of disk space so, gasp, I may have to run a Windows Server Backup one-time job. Sigh.

§ 3 Responses to NetBackup Back Down

  • Hi Fred,

    I am truly sorry to hear this experience. I shall get this escalated. Since you upgraded from NetBackup 6.5 to 7.5, I am assuming that your Exchange version is less than 2010, right?

    In order to support Exchange 2010, the agent has been updated to handle a few other things. As you may already know, Microsoft dropped support for MAPI in Exchange 2010 and now backups are done through VSS framework. As part of this, the agent (since NetBackup 7.0) does look at the current snapshots. I am wondering if any of the leftover snapshots from the VSS system provider (although you may not be using it since your version of Exchange does support MAPI) could be stepping in the logic. Can you run ‘vssadmin list shadows’ and make sure that you do not have any orphaned snapshots?

    I shall let the management team know and get your case escalated.

    Warm regards,

    Rasheed

  • Hi Fred,

    I got this note from a subject matter expert. Can you check if this is what is going on?

    I remember a situation where the customer was initially getting the error “FTL – snapshot preparation failed – Unable to backup Exchange database. It may not be mounted, status 69 ” . It was a new exchange 2007 CCR configuration and NetBackup 7.5. The customer had added the client name in policy as the node name instead using the exchange cluster name.

    Meanwhile I got the assurance from Symantec support that your case is getting escalated.

    We truly appreciate your patience.

    Warm regards,

    Rasheed

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading NetBackup Back Down at /var/log.

meta

